General Admissions Eligibility
As provided herein, requirements for admission shall be approved by the Florida State College at Jacksonville District Board of Trustees, shall be maintained in the College’s official curricular files, and shall be reflected in the College Catalog.
- Workforce Certificate Programs
- General admissions eligibility for Workforce Certificate programs is as follows:
- The individual must be 18 years of age or older.
- The individual must be a U.S. citizen.
- United States citizens under the age of 18 who have earned a high school completion credential may be admitted to Workforce Certificate programs.
- United States citizens under the age of 18 who have not earned a high school completion credential may be admitted to Workforce Certificate programs with confirmation from all high schools attended that the individual has not been found guilty of any of the following offenses:
- Distribution of drugs
- Simple battery upon school employees or agents
- Burglary of school property
- Criminal mischief or vandalism
- Possession of weapons or dangerous objects
- Indecent public conduct
- Battery upon another student resulting in bodily harm
- Inciting or participating in a major student disorder
- Commission of any felony
- Individuals currently attending a public or private high school or home school also may be admitted as dual enrollment students if they meet the dual enrollment requirements in accordance with state statute and rules.
- Individuals who are not U.S. citizens may be admitted if they are at least 18 years old and in full compliance with all federal immigration rules.
- Selective Admissions: Some Workforce Certificate programs have additional admissions requirements as established by the College administration.
In compliance with Florida Statute 119.071(5), Florida Coast Career Tech issues this notification regarding the purpose of the collection and use of Social Security numbers. Florida Coast Career Tech will collect your Social Security Number (SSN) if specifically required by law to do so or if necessary for the performance of the College’s duties and responsibilities. The College takes appropriate measures to secure SSNs from unauthorized access and does not release SSNs to other parties except as required to fulfill the College’s duties and responsibilities. A student may refuse to disclose his or her SSN to the College, but the IRS is then authorized to fine the student in the amount of $50. Additional information related to the use of social security numbers can be found in the Student Rights and Responsibilities section of the College catalog.
Enrollment and Registration Procedures for Certificate Programs
Florida Coast Career Tech offers many postsecondary training programs which prepare students to enter a new career. Each of these programs prepares students to enter a specific occupation or one of a cluster of related occupations. To complete a program, students must demonstrate that they have mastered specific job–related performance requirements as well as communication and computation competencies. Upon the completion of a program, students will be awarded a postsecondary training certificate.
Postsecondary job preparatory programs vary in length from 20 to 1,500 hours. Students entering programs which are 450 hours or more are required to be assessed in basic reading, mathematics and language skills. Prior to the completion of their respective programs, those students who score below the prescribed grade levels on the Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE) will be required to enroll in basic skills training (VPI) and be retested to demonstrate attainment of the prescribed skill level for their respective programs of study.
Enrollment procedures for students entering vocational programs are as follows:
- Application and Fee Complete and submit a Florida Coast Career Tech application, along with the appropriate application fee. Applications are available through the enrollment services office at each campus or by calling the Welcome Center at (904) 353-9675 or visiting our Web site.
- Financial Aid Application If you are interested in receiving financial aid, call or visit the enrollment services office on campus. The Welcome Center can also mail you an application for federal student aid or you may visit our Web site.
- Career Goal If you haven’t already decided on a career goal and Florida Coast Career Tech program of study, make an appointment with a counselor at the Career Development Center on campus.
- Assessment After submitting your Florida Coast Career Tech membership application, contact the assessment and certification center on campus and take the required Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE).
- Advising Make an appointment with the manager of the vocational program in which you plan to enroll. The program manager will advise you regarding which classes to take first. If you are not sure who to call, call (904) 353-9675.
- Registration During the appropriate registration period, register for the courses you plan to take this term via the Web or in person.
- Tuition and Fees Tuition and fees must be paid by the payment deadline. Payment may be made by mail or by visiting the Business Affairs office on campus. Upon payment, we will mail you your class schedule and fee statement.
- Identification Card Obtain a student identification card on campus.
- Parking Decal A parking decal may be picked up at any campus security office.
Vocational Preparation Instruction
Developmental education is offered to non–credit students at various locations. The goal is to assist students who need additional help in improving their reading, math or language skills to earn their certificate. Program strategies include:
- reading courses that may be taken for high school credit,
- individualized instruction in reading,
- tutoring, and
- diagnostic and prescriptive teaching in the Vocational Preparatory Instruction (VPI) labs and classes in the areas of mathematics, English and reading.
For more information call (904) 633-8360.
Students Seeking Florida Coast Career Tech Credit While Still in High School
Dual Enrollment for High School Students
The dual enrollment program enables qualified high school students to receive simultaneous high school and Florida Coast Career Tech credit for courses they take as dual enrollment. Eligible students include Duval and Nassau high school juniors and seniors whose county school board, private school, or home school has an articulation agreement with Florida Coast Career Tech to offer dual enrollment courses. These students must possess established high school grade point averages and must earn the required entry scores on the Florida College Entry Level Placement Test (FCELPT), ACT, SAT, or Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE) to qualify. Students take a limited number of courses each term and do not pay tuition and fees. Books may be paid for by the high school. Upon successful completion of the courses, students will also earn high school credits.
All dual enrollment is handled by the designated campus dual enrollment coordinator. Dual enrollment students are NOT permitted to enroll with enrollment services offices or online. A high school representative must submit an application packet to the campus dual enrollment coordinator that includes the following:
- A dual enrollment application signed by the student, parent and guidance counselor.
- A transcript reflecting the appropriate grade point average.
- An official copy of the student’s scores on the Florida College Entry Level Placement Test (FCELPT), SAT, ACT or Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE).
Dual enrolled high school students are not required to pay an application fee to enroll in dual enrolled classes. Payment is required when registering for other than dual enrolled classes or when requesting a transcript.
Career Early Admission
The career early admission program is a dual enrollment program which allows applicants to enter Florida Coast Career Tech as full–time students at the end of their junior year in high school, earn Florida Coast Career Tech credits, and still graduate with their high school class. The program is governed by all the dual enrollment requirements listed above.
Registration dates will vary by program category and campus. Students should contact the program advisor for specific information.
Terms and Definitions
Schedule changes, commonly known as add–drop, will be allowed in accordance with the schedule established by the Office of the Registrar each term.
Suspension, Termination or Cancellation of Enrollment
The College reserves the right to suspend, terminate or retroactively cancel the enrollment of any student for either of the following reasons:
- disciplinary reasons or
- non–payment of course fees when payment is due, including non–payment resulting from dishonored checks or charge cards.
- failure to meet the minimum standards of progress.
Students requesting enrollment certification for educational benefits must be admitted to and be enrolled in a vocational program. Full time attendance requirements range from 20 to 30 clock hours per week. The minimum may vary by program and agency requirement. Veterans should refer to the Student Services section, Veteran Affairs, in the catalog for information. Students may also contact Veteran Affairs located in the enrollment services office on each campus.
Prerequisites and Corequisites
Some certificate courses include specific requirements which must be met prior to enrollment. These requirements may include prerequisites (courses which must be satisfactorily completed prior to enrollment), corequisites (courses which must be taken at the same time of enrollment) or other specific conditions.
Postsecondary Adult Vocational (PSAV) Courses Tuition and Fees
A $15 application fee is assessed as a one time fee when a student is initially admitted as a Florida Coast Career Tech student. This is a one-time processing fee and is non-refundable.
Tuition and Fees
Tuition and fees for in-state residents:
per credit hour*†
Tuition and fees for non-residents:
per credit hour*†
Tuition and fees for eligible Georgia residents :
per credit hour*†
*Tuition and fees are subject to change by action of the District Board of Trustees. Current tuition and fees will be posted at the time of registration.
†If you do not use the College’s parking facilities at any campus or center, you should obtain a parking fee waiver at any enrollment services office prior to registering for classes.
PSAV tuition and fees are assessed based on the number of contact hours required for each class. Thirty contact hours equal one credit hour.
You can learn more about how to pay for college by visiting our financial aid and scholarships page.
Applicants for admission are classified as Florida resident students or non–Florida resident students for tuition and fees assessment purposes.
The law allows U.S. Citizens and Lawful Permanent residents to be classified as Florida residents for tuition and fees purposes if the independent applicant or the dependent applicant’s parent/legal guardian has been a legal permanent resident of the state for at least 12 continuous months preceding the first day of classes of the term/session for which Florida residency is sought.
To be considered independent for the purpose of tuition and fees the following criteria will be considered:
- The student is 24 years of age or older by the first day of classes of the term for which residency is sought;
- The student is married;
- The student has children who receive more than half of their support from the student;
- The student has other dependents who live with and receive more than half of their support from the student;
- The student is a veteran of the United States Armed Forces or is currently serving on active duty in the United States Armed Forces for purposes other than training;
- Both of the student’s parents are deceased or the student is or was (until age 18) a ward/dependent of the court;
- The student is classified as an independent by the financial aid office at the institution.
A student who does not meet any of the criteria outlined above may be classified as an independent student by submitting supportive financial documentation that he or she provides fifty (50) percent or more of the cost of attendance as defined by the college’s financial aid office for independent, in – state students (exclusive of federal, state, and institutional aid or scholarships).
All other students who do not meet the above outlined definition of an independent student shall be classified as dependent students for the determination of residency for tuition and fees purposes.
The student who comes to Florida to enroll in a Florida postsecondary educational institution as an out–of–state resident and continuously enrolls in a Florida institution will not normally meet the Florida residency requirement for in–state tuition and fees regardless of the length of time enrolled.
Section 1009.21, Florida Statutes, permits certain applicants who do not meet the 12 month legal residence requirement to be classified as Florida residents for tuition and fees purposes. These exceptional categories are as follows:
- Dependent children residing with a legal resident adult relative other than the parent for at least 5 years.
- Persons married to legal Florida residents and who intend to make Florida their permanent home, and who relinquish their legal ties to any other state.
- Persons who were enrolled as Florida residents for tuition and fees purposes at a Florida public institution of higher education, but who abandon Florida residency and then re–enroll in Florida within 12 months of the abandonment.
- Active duty members of the armed services of the United States residing or stationed in Florida (and spouse/dependent children) or military personnel not stationed in Florida whose home or record or state of legal residence certificate, DD Form 2058, is Florida (and spouse/dependent children).
- Active duty members of the armed service of the United States and their spouses attending a public community college or university within 50 miles of the military establishment where they are stationed, if such military establishment is within a county contiguous to Florida.
- United States citizens living on the Isthmus of Panama, who have completed 12 consecutive months of college work at the Florida State University Panama Canal Branch, and their spouses and dependent children.
- Full–time instructional and administrative personnel employed by the State public school system, community colleges and institutions of higher education (and spouse/dependent children.)
- Students from Latin America and the Caribbean who receive scholarships from the federal or state government. The student must attend, on a full–time basis, a Florida institution of higher education.
- Full–time employees of state agencies or political subdivision of the state when the student fees are paid by the state agency or political subdivision for the purpose of job related law enforcement or corrections training.
- Qualified beneficiaries under the Florida Pre–Paid Postsecondary Expense Program.
- A dependent child whose parents are divorced, separated, or otherwise living apart, will be considered a resident for tuition and fees purposes if either parent is a legal resident of Florida, regardless of which parent claims the minor for tax purposes.
- Active members of the Florida National Guard (Army or Air) who qualify under S.250.10(7) and (8) for the tuition assistance program.
- Active duty members of the Canadian military residing or stationed in this state under the North American Air Defense (NORAD) agreement, and their spouses and dependent children, attending a public community college or university within 50 miles of the military establishment where they are stationed.
If a student does not does not qualify for a statutory residency exception or qualification, they will have to submit documentation that they (or a parent or legal guardian if a dependent) has been a Florida resident for at least 12 months prior to the first day of classes for which the student is enrolling. At least two documents must be submitted, with dates that evidence the 12-month qualifying period. At least one of the documents must be from the First Tier. As some evidence is more persuasive than others, more than two may be requested. No single piece of documentation will be considered conclusive. Additionally, there must be an absence of information that contradicts the applicant’s claim of residency.
The law allows non-U.S. citizens such as lawful permanent residents, temporary permanent resident, asylees, parolees, and refugees who have applied for and been approved for such status and who otherwise meet the 12 months legal residence requirements, to be eligible to establish Florida residency for tuition and fees purposes. Provided that the non-U.S. citizen has proof of his or her permanent immigration status, he or she may be classified as a Florida Resident 12 months from the time he or she establishes legal Florida residence for tuition and fees purposes. The following is a list of nonimmigrant categories eligible to establish Florida residency for tuition and fees purposes.
Visa Categories are: A, E, G, H-1, H-4 (only if spouse or child or alien classified H-1), I, K, L, N, O-1, O-3 (only if spouse or child of O-1 alien), R, NATO-I-7, T, V.
Non-U.S. citizens in the following categories shall also be considered eligible to establish Florida residency for tuition and fees purposes:
- Citizens of Micronesia
- Citizens of the Marshall Islands
- Beneficiaries of the Family Unit Program
- Individuals granted:
- Temporary protected status
- Withholding of deportation status
- Suspension of deportation status or cancellation of removal
- A stay of deportation status
- Deferred enforced departure status
- Deferred action status
- Applicants for adjustment of status
- Asylum applicants with USCIS receipt or Immigration Court stamp
Applicants should be aware that a false statement regarding residency status is punishable as a misdemeanor under Florida Statutes, Section 837.06. If a statement is determined to be false, student will be subject to discipline by the District Board of Trustees, which may include expulsion and the withholding of credit.
Applicants who do not qualify as Florida students under these provisions will pay the non–resident tuition and fees, and other charges required of non–Florida students.
Any student who seeks reclassification as a Florida resident must complete and submit the residency reclassification form and all supporting documentation prior to the first day of the first session in which the student has registered within the semester residency is sought. All documents supporting the residency reclassification must show evidence that the student (or if a minor, his/her parents or legal guardian) has resided in Florida for 12 consecutive months. Two documents are required and may include: a valid Florida driver’s license, a current voter’s registration card, a valid Florida vehicle registration or Declaration of Domicile. Residency reclassification forms may be obtained at a campus/center enrollment services office.
At the time of printing, new state residency reclassification legislation was pending. To view any changes to the residency reclassification requirements, consult the online catalog.
Late Registration Fee
The fee for late registration is $35.
Returned Check Fee
Checks returned by the bank $25
This fee will not be assessed if the bank certifies that the check was returned due to bank error. Unless the returned check and $25 service charge are paid in full on or before the prescribed deadline, students will be disenrolled from all classes affected by this returned check. Students who have been disenrolled from their classes can re–enroll through the late registration process and shall be charged the late registration fee. For one full calendar year, the College will not accept a check from these students.
The majority of assessments administered by the assessment and certification centers require the payment of a fee. A $5 fee is also charged for additional score reports. These fees are paid in the campus business office prior to testing and are non–refundable. Students are not charged a fee for the Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE) or the first time they sit for the Information Literacy Assessment, the College Placement Test (CPT) and the College–Level Academic Skills Test (CLAST).
Professional malpractice and liability insurance risk coverage fees per course:
The risk coverage fee is non–refundable if students withdraw after the official close of the add/drop period for the term.
Items purchased by the College to permit the conducting of ceremonies in accordance with established traditions for special programs, primarily in the health–related education area, will be charged to the affected students. Charges shall not exceed the cost of the items purchased for students.
How to Pay
After you register, your courses are reserved for you until your payment deadline. When we receive your payment, your courses are locked in. If you choose not to pay by the payment deadline, your course reservation will be canceled and you will need to re–register. The College provides you with four ways to pay for college credit courses: by Web, telephone, on campus and by mail.
The easiest way to pay for your courses is directly through Connections. You can pay using a credit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express or Discover Card), or on the Web with an electronic check, or by enrolling in one of the available Tuition Installment Plans. You can pay at any time after you register, but remember, if you choose to delay your payment it still must be received by the deadline to lock in your schedule.
All financial aid and agency sponsored payments will automatically be applied to the amount due when you register. If an amount remains due, the operator will inform you of the amount due and the payment date.
You may pay your tuition and fees at the business office on any Florida Coast Career Tech campus. On campus, you can use cash, check, money order or credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover Card) to pay your fees. Drop boxes are available at each campus location for payments by check or money order.
Pay by mail instructions and forms are printed in each College schedule.
Agency Sponsored Payments
Students with funding for tuition and fees from sponsoring agencies or organizations must have an authorization from the agency on file before the student’s tuition and fees will be linked to the sponsor. Once the authorization is on file, registration costs of the student will automatically be applied to the sponsor’s account and an invoice generated to the sponsor for payment. Sponsored students remain liable for any charges incurred on their behalf and will be billed by the College if the sponsoring agency does not render payment to the College in the prescribed manner. Students are required to render payment within 30 days of the billing date. Failure to pay will result in restrictions and costs listed in the Payment of Student Accounts section below.
Payment of Student Accounts
Students’ accounts are payable to Florida Coast Career Tech at the time such charges are incurred. Students receiving financial aid, veteran benefits or having an approved agency sponsorship on file can enter into an agreement with the College to have tuition and fees, and in some cases books and other charges, placed on account. Student remains responsible for payment of all charges. Florida Coast Career Tech prohibits the registration of, release of transcripts to, or the issuance of a certification of completion or diploma to students whose accounts with the College are delinquent. Students who fail to pay short–term loans, financial aid loans, veteran deferments or other debt by the date established by the College may be disenrolled, subject to additional charges, reported to a collection agency and the credit bureau, and will not be able to register and receive transcripts.
A one hundred percent (100%) refund of matriculation, and tuition and fees will be granted to a student who officially drops a course prior to the end of the College’s published drop/add period. Refunds are subject to applicable federal and state guidelines and laws.
Refunds resulting from overpayment of tuition and fees are automatically processed beginning two calendar weeks from the 100% refund date for the main session of the term. After this date, refunds are processed weekly. Refunds are not processed automatically before this date to allow students the maximum flexibility in modifying their schedule.
Students who desire to receive refunds before the automatic processing is scheduled may request a refund from any campus business office. Refunds requested in this manner will be processed within five business days as long as all other requirements for processing a refund are met. Students paying by check must wait a minimum of 10 days before requesting a refund.
Refunds will be disbursed in the same method as the payment was originally received unless otherwise determined by the Bursar. If the amount paid was received by a credit card, then a refund will be initiated to the credit card. If the amount paid was received by check, money order or cash, the refund will be returned by check or electronic disbursement to the student’s bank account.
A refund will be processed to the student if the tuition and fees amount was originally paid by financial aid. When payment for tuition and fees is received from a sponsoring agency, the written authorization from the sponsoring agency will determine whether refunds are remitted to the student or to the agency.
Automatic refunds will only be made for overpayments greater than $5.00.
Any amount due to the student should be applied to his or her outstanding debts before a refund is issued.
Fee Refunds: Continuing Education Courses, Seminars and Workshops
As published in the announcement, workshops or seminars which require special arrangements may provide no refund of fees if participants cancel after the time specified in the announcement.
Refund Payment Dates
Refund checks or credit memoranda will be made in accordance with the schedule established by the College. However, students who are due a refund may request a refund earlier at any campus business office. Students paying by check must wait a minimum of 10 days before requesting a refund.
Students paying part of their tuition and fees with cash/check and part by credit card will receive a credit memoranda to their credit card.
Request for Refund Appeal Process
The Campus President may approve disenrollment and a refund of matriculation and tuition and fees for a course or courses after the official drop/add period. Approval will be granted based on documented extenuating circumstances beyond the control of the student such as involuntary call to active military duty, college error and extensive hospitalization.
Students will complete a Request for Refund or Cancellation of Debt form from the Campus Dean of Student Success office. If approved and a refund is due, the refund will be made by College check and will be mailed to the student at the address on file with the College. Refunds will be mailed within 10 working days of approval by the Campus President. If a refund is not approved, the student will be notified.
The Campus President may deny the request, approve disenrollment and a refund of tuition and fees, or approve a waiver for the class to be repeated.
Requests for Refund or Cancellation of Debt must be received by the Campus Student Success office before the official withdrawal date of the following term.
Special Programs Offering Financial Aid Tax Credits
The federal government’s Taxpayer’s Relief Act of 1997 (TRA ’97) provides new tax benefits to help families meet the cost of post–secondary education. The TRA ’97 contains the Hope Scholarship Tax Credit, renamed in 2009 to the American Opportunity Tax Credit, provides for students in the first two years of post– secondary (college and vocational) education and the Lifetime Learning Tax Credit for other students. Because each person’s tax situation is unique, students interested in these tax credits should consult their tax advisor to determine eligibility. More information can also be obtained by calling the IRS at (800) 829-1040 and asking for IRS publication 970 or logging on to the IRS Web site or U.S. Department of Education Web site.
Florida Coast Career Tech offers many types of financial assistance to students who would otherwise be unable to further their education without such support. Depending on the type of aid, eligibility is based on one or more of the following criteria: financial need of the individual (in the case of dependent students family need is used), educational costs, academic achievement, availability of funds, disability and/or special talent. Inquiries regarding financial aid should be directed to the Enrollment Services/Financial Aid Office on the student’s home campus. A student’s home campus is his/her point of contact for academic advising, financial aid advising and disbursement of funds. In addition, information on financial aid requirements, forms and awards is available on our Web site through Connections.
It is your responsibility to …
- check Connections for financial aid status and if additional information is required
- apply early for financial aid assistance
- complete a FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) each year
- submit all required forms and documentation
- use financial aid for educationally–related expenses only
- pay your tuition and fees, books and other charges with financial aid funds or from your own resources
Applying for Aid
The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is used to determine eligibility for federal financial aid, state aid and institutional scholarships. Students should apply early, preferably before April 15, each year. The application is available at local high schools, campus enrollment services/financial aid office and on the Web at Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The application is to be completed by the student and the student’s family and mailed to the address on the application or transmitted via the Web. It is strongly recommended students apply online to reduce errors and expedite processing of the financial aid application. Once the application is processed, the results of the federal analysis are sent to the schools listed on the application. The student will receive a Student Aid Report (SAR) via mail or e–mail. Students may also be required to submit additional documents to their home campus Enrollment Services/Financial Aid Office.
Tuition and fees, books and other charges are due at the time such charges are incurred. Students receiving financial aid can have these charges deferred until financial aid is received. The amount due on the student’s account will be deducted from the financial aid amount disbursed. If funds remain, a check or direct deposit to the student’s bank account will be issued for the difference. Students electing to defer charges must complete the Student Aid Authorization Form. Students signing a Student Aid Authorization are requesting an educational loan from the College to assist with educational costs. Educational loans are not dischargeable in bankruptcy.
If financial aid is reduced, terminated or otherwise insufficient to pay charges, student is responsible for payment of charges from their own resources. College regulations prohibit registration or release of transcripts, grades or diplomas for any student whose account is delinquent. Delinquent accounts may be reported to a credit bureau and can result in placement with a collection agency, at which time additional collection costs will be assessed.
Financial aid is not automatically renewed each year. To continue receiving financial aid, students must reapply each year. As financial circumstances change from year to year, the award amount may be different each year. Financial aid is awarded for the academic year and credited toward tuition and fees each semester. Financial aid enrollment and disbursements are based on classes required for the student’s program of study. If students choose to take classes outside their program of study, they may be required to pay the cost from their own resources. Students taking classes at two different institutions at the same time can only receive aid at their home institution and an official consortium agreement must be approved
Types of Financial Aid
Programs require an enrollment of at least six credits per term unless otherwise indicated.
Pell Grant: A federal grant awarded when the student does not have a B.S./B.A. degree or equivalent. Amounts range from $976 to $5,350 per academic year. The amount received depends on the Expected Family Contribution (EFC), the cost of attendance at Florida Coast Career Tech and enrollment status.
Workforce Certificate Grant (Formerly PSAV): A Florida Coast Career Tech institutional grant for students enrolled in an eligible Workforce Certificate. Recipients must be enrolled for at least six workforce credits and must meet certain eligibility requirements.
Qualifying for Aid
To be eligible for federal, state and institutional aid students must meet the following criteria:
- Demonstrate financial need (may not be required for some loan and institutional programs).
- Have a standard high school diploma, high school equivalency degree or ATB (Ability to Benefit) on file.
- Be enrolled in a college credit program or an eligible vocational program.
- Maintain financial aid standards of academic progress in program of study.
- Not be in default or owe a repayment of Title IV funds.
- Have a valid Social Security number.
- Be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non – citizen with permanent residency status and an alien registration identification number (may not be required for some institutional programs).
- Be registered with Selective Service (males between the ages of 18 and 25).
- Have not borrowed in excess of loan limits under the Title IV program.
- Federal regulations require that students may only receive financial aid if they are maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress (see details below).
- Must have all requested documents on file before disbursements are made.
Title IV Financial Aid Satisfactory Academic Progress
Students are only allowed to attempt a limited number of credit hours under federal financial aid guidelines. Credits may include college or workforce credits, transfer credits, remedial credits and all other credits attempted at any division of Florida State College at Jacksonville. All students receiving Title IV financial aid funds must meet Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) in order to receive Title IV funds. Academic history is reviewed for all students applying for financial aid, regardless of whether financial aid has been previously received.
All students receiving aid must successfully complete a minimum of 67% of cumulative credit hours attempted. For example, a student attempting 35 credits must complete 23 credits successfully (35 credits x 67% = 23 credits). Students must also maintain at least a 2.0 G.P.A. SAP will be evaluated yearly, after the spring semester, for the following academic year. Students enrolled in one–year or less certificate or vocational programs will have grades reviewed at the end of each term. (Successfully completed grades: A, B, C, D, S, NG – Unsuccessful grades: U, W, F, FN, I, NR.) Failure to meet these standards may impact the student’s eligibility for financial aid and ability to register. Please contact the enrollment services/financial aid office on your campus for further information.
Students receiving financial aid will have their aid terminated once they exceed 150% of the number of credits needed to complete their degree or certificate program. This regulation applies to all students, including those that have not previously received financial aid. For example, a student working toward an A.A. degree needs 60 hours to graduate. Once the student attempts more than 90 hours he/she is no longer eligible for financial aid. (60 hrs x 150% = 90 hrs) Under extenuating circumstances the 150% rule may be appealed. The 150% rule applies to all classes attempted by the student, including remedial, vocational and transfer hours. Students must make other arrangements to pay their tuition and fees if their financial aid is terminated and they do not appeal or their appeal is denied.
Students whose aid is cancelled may appeal this decision only if there are extenuating circumstances (medical or personal problems). To appeal, the student must complete and return the appeal form to the home campus enrollment services/financial aid office. All supporting documentation must be attached or the appeal form will not be accepted. After reviewing the written appeal and all documentation, the campus dean will notify the student in Connections (students will be required to log on to their student accounts in Connections for notification). All aid remains cancelled until the student receives notification the appeal was approved for the next period of enrollment. The dean reserves the right to limit the student’s enrollment to less than full–time.
Financial aid will not pay for more than 30 remedial credits attempted.
Audited Classes/Challenged Exams
Financial aid will not pay for audited classes or challenged exams.
Each year at least 30 percent of financial aid applicants are randomly selected for verification as required by the Department of Education. If selected for verification, the student must provide additional documentation (e.g.: federal income tax returns/W–2s, proof of citizenship, Social Security, etc.) before financial aid can be awarded.
Title IV financial aid recipients who officially withdraw from all classes during the first 60% of the academic term will be subject to repayment terms as outlined by the Department of Education. If disbursement has already been made to the student, it is the student’s responsibility to repay all funds due. Federal regulations require a formula be used based on number of calendar days in the term and the number of days attended by the student before withdrawal to determine how much financial aid was “earned” by the student. The difference between aid disbursed and aid earned will be used to calculate how much the student must repay. Information on the Return of Title IV Funds policy is available at each campus Enrollment Services/Financial Aid Office.
If the student unofficially withdraws (stops attending) or student’s academic transcript reflects unsuccessful completion of all courses, Florida Coast Career Tech will have student aid calculated on 50% of the term. Documentation of an academic–related activity, including notification from the faculty, may be used to recalculate aid based on the last date of attendance.
Students with Disabilities
Eligibility for State Financial Aid
Students with documented disabilities for whom part–time enrollment is a necessary accommodation are eligible for State Financial Assistance, including the Florida Student Assistance Grant. This affects students with documented disabilities who are currently enrolled or who desire to enroll in future terms. Additional information is available in the Disabilities Office on campus.
This section provides general financial aid information only. It is accurate as of the date this catalog was published, but is not meant to be a complete list of all financial aid regulations. If financial aid standards of academic progress are changed, the new requirements will supersede those listed in this catalog. Florida Coast Career Tech reserves the right to cancel or amend financial aid awards based on a change in funding or other reasons specified by federal, state and institutional policies.
Veterans benefits are a form of student aid awarded to eligible individuals based on their military service. There are currently six programs provided under Title 38 of the United States Code which authorizes payment of educational benefits to eligible individuals.
- Chapter 30: New GI Bill — members of the armed forces who entered active duty for the first time after June 30, 1985.
- Chapter 31: Disabled Veterans — members having a service–connected disability which entitles them to veteran compensation.
- Chapter 32: Veterans Educational Assistance Program (VEAP) — members who initially entered service after December 31, 1976.
- Chapter 33: New Post-9/11 GI Bill — members who served a minimum of 90 days on active duty after September 10, 2001.
- Chapter 35: Survivor and Dependents — sons, daughters, spouses and surviving spouses of veterans who died in service, as a result of a service–connected disability or became permanently and totally disabled.
- Chapter 1606: Selected Reserve Program — members of the selected reserve who are certified by their unit commander and the VA.
- Chapter 1607: Selected Reserve Program — members of the reserve components called or ordered to active duty in response to a war or national emergency (contingency operations) as declared by the President or Congress on or after September 11, 2001.
A veterans representative is located in the Enrollment Services/Financial Aid Office on each campus to provide forms and information pertaining to educational assistance for veterans. The following action must be taken once the veteran student has been admitted to the College.
- Complete the necessary applications at the Enrollment Services/Financial Aid Office on any campus.
- Provide copies of all DD214s if applicable.
- Provide a copy of marriage licenses, birth certificates and divorce decrees, if applicable.
- Provide a certificate of eligibility from VA, if available.
Inquiries relating to benefits should be directed to the Veterans Affairs Atlanta Regional Processing Office (VARPO) at (888) 442-4551.
The College’s Veterans Affairs Office will audit all courses for enrolled students who are eligible to receive benefits. There are restrictions as to the programs and courses for which students will be certified.
- Students may only be certified for programs, courses and terms approved by the state approving agency.
- The declared program of study must be the same on both the College’s record and the student’s official Veteran Affairs file. Students must follow the selected program of study and can only be certified for courses which are required for graduation.
- Students cannot be certified for an audit course, a course for which they have previously received credit or the repeat of an “I” grade within one year.
- Non–punitive grades will be reported to the Department of Veterans Affairs and will affect the previously submitted certification within a given term.
- Veteran students must achieve satisfactory academic progress in order to continue to be certified. Unsatisfactory progress must be addressed with an academic counselor before certification can be resumed. Minimum standards of progress are the same as for the general student population. See the section on “Standards of Academic Progress.”
Veterans in vocational programs are allowed two days of unexcused absences per class per calendar month. Excused absences are those occurring for the reasons cited hereafter and officially accepted by the VA certifying official.
- Personal Illness — Must be supported by a physician’s signed statement on letterhead stationery, specifying the dates the student was incapable of attending classes.
- Death in Family — Pertains to death of a parent, spouse, children, brothers or sisters only. Must be supported by valid evidence that indicates date of death and relationship of deceased person to the veteran.
- Jury Duty — Must be supported by a document from the court showing dates of jury service.
Documentation of excused absences must be submitted no later than the 10th calendar day of the month following the month in which the absences occurred. All unexcused absences are reported to the Veterans Administration. Partial days of absence are converted to full days. Veterans reported for failure to attend class will be contacted by the College Veterans Affairs Office. Without a satisfactory explanation and immediate resumption of attendance, veterans will be reported to the VA as having terminated attendance in that course. Individuals reported for excessive absence will be eligible for recertification at the beginning of the following term providing other enrollment criteria are met.
Deferment and Short–Term Loans
One deferment of tuition and fees charges per year is available for veteran students who qualify. The VA deferment due date is determined as follows.
- If the term is at least 60 calendar days in length, the obligation must be cleared no later than 60 calendar days from the beginning date of the term.
- If the term is less than 60 calendar days, the obligation must be cleared no later than 10 calendar days from the end of the term.
Note: Veteran students requesting a deferment of tuition and fees charges pending receipt of benefits are entering into a signed loan agreement from the College to assist with educational costs. Educational loans are not dischargeable in bankruptcy. Failure to pay tuition and fees charges may result in disenrollment, a restriction against registration, additional veteran deferments or release of transcripts, grades or diplomas. The debt can be reported to the credit bureau and collection costs assessed. If disenrolled, student’s change in enrollment status will be reported to the Department of Veteran Affairs and can affect eligibility of benefits received.
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers
I attended workforce classes at Florida Community College at Jacksonville or Florida Coast Career Tech in the past. Do I need to complete another application for admission?
No, check with the campus enrollment services office to update your records and prepare for registration.
What is the difference between degree seeking and non–degree seeking?
Florida Coast Career Tech offers four kinds of college credit degrees for degree seeking students — the bachelor of applied science (B.A.S.), the associate in arts (A.A.), the associate in science (A.S.) and associate in applied science (A.A.S.). Students who have an associate in science degree and want to further their education may pursue a B.A.S. degree. Students who want to transfer to a four–year college or university pursue an A.A. degree. Students who want to obtain a degree in a specified area of expertise pursue an A.S. or A.A.S. degree. Non–degree seeking students are not trying to earn a degree. They may be taking classes for work advancement, to transfer credit back to another college or for personal enrichment.
I will graduate from high school in late May; can I register as a Dual Enrollment student for the summer term, which begins in early May?
You will be ineligible for Dual Enrollment for this term because the credits will not apply toward your high school diploma prior to your graduation.
Where do I have my transcripts from another institution sent?
Have them sent to: Student Records Office, Florida Coast Career Tech, P.O. Box 40515, Jacksonville, FL 32203-0515.
How do I get my Florida Coast Career Tech official transcript?
We have many convenient ways for you to request your academic transcript (and it’s always free).
- Request Your Transcript Online
If you want to send an official transcript to another school, to your home address, or to any other address, you can log on to Connections and make your request online.
- Mail Us a Written Request
In requesting your transcripts, you must always include: your full name, former last names, current address, telephone number, your date of birth and dates of enrollment; as well as the name and address of the agency or person who will be receiving your transcripts, and finally, your signature. For faster processing, you may include your social security number. Mail Your Request to Florida Coast Career Tech, Attention: Student Records Office, P.O. Box 40515, Jacksonville, FL 32203-0515.
- Fax a Written Request
Fax your request to (904) 633-8304, and include all the information mentioned above for a mailed request.
- Complete a Request Form on Campus
You can complete a request form at any campus enrollment services office. At South, Downtown, Kent, North and Deerwood the transcript is printed in the business office. You can pick it up and go at those locations. All other locations, the request form is sent to the Student Records office for processing.
- Just Need an Unofficial Transcript?
You can get an unofficial transcript through Connections.
Allow three working days for your transcript request to be processed and mailed via US postal mail or electronically. Transcripts are sent electronically to Florida public community colleges, state colleges and universities. Receipt date of the transcript at the receiving institution is dependent upon the time in which the school checks their electronic mailbox. Electronic transmission can take from one to seven days.
For your privacy and protection, we do not fax transcripts.
No transcript request will be processed until all financial obligations to the college are clear. Certain holds prevent transcript request from being processed.
Where do I go for information on financial aid?
Contact the enrollment services office on the campus you plan to attend.
Does Florida Coast Career Tech provide scholarships for students?
Yes, visit the Florida Coast Career Tech scholarships Web page or contact the enrollment services office on the campus you plan to attend.
When is college credit class registration?
Refer to the dates listed in the class schedule (available in the campus enrollment services office).
May I register if I haven’t gotten my transcripts from another institution/high school/Navy/etc.?
It’s not a problem, if it’s your first term enrolling. But if they are not received by the end of the term, you cannot register for subsequent terms. In this case, you will be notified and will need to continue to follow–up until all of your transcripts have been received. You may not qualify for financial aid, however, until all transcripts are received and evaluated.
May I register at one campus for classes at another campus?
You may register for any class at any campus; you can also do this online. (See the special section in the class schedule.)
When is the last day to register?
Refer to the class schedule or check with the campus enrollment services office.
When does the term start and end?
Refer to the Academic Calendar .
How can I get a catalog? An application? A class schedule?
You may pick one up at any campus enrollment services office or call (904) 353-9675.
What is distance learning?
Distance learning includes courses which you take online and courses which consist of a video component available on CD–ROM or cable TV.
How do I register for a distance learning class?
Register online, on campus or on the phone.
Where do I get my books?
Textbooks are available at any campus bookstore or can be ordered online.
Where do I take my exams?
Most online classes feature exams online. Some online classes require you to come to campus or an approved test location for testing. Details will be covered by your instructor.
Tuition and Fees
How long do you have to live in Florida to be considered a resident?
You must live in Florida 12 consecutive months prior to the first day of classes to qualify as a resident.
If my spouse is in the military, do I qualify for in–state tuition and fees?
If your spouse is stationed in Florida on active duty, you and your dependents qualify for in–state tuition and fees.
Drops and Cancellations
How do I drop a class in order to obtain a refund?
The easiest way to drop a class is online. You may also drop courses on campus. All drops must be completed by the drop deadline.
When will I get my refund?
You will receive your refund within four to six weeks. Checks are not processed until after the drop deadline. If you paid with a charge card, your card will be credited, otherwise you will receive a check.
When is the last day to drop a class?
Refer to the Academic Calendar listed in the catalog.
My class was cancelled. How do I get my refund?
Refunds are mailed automatically unless you register for another class in its place.
How much do books cost?
Books vary in price, but $35 per credit hour is a good benchmark.
When does the bookstore buy back books?
This varies from term to term; check with the bookstore.
Is there a parking fee?
Yes, there is a parking fee included with your tuition and fees. If you do not use the Florida Coast Career Tech parking facilities at any campus or center, you should obtain a parking fee waiver at any enrollment services office prior to registering for classes.
Who can I contact if I don’t know what to do to resolve a problem?
Contact a counselor or advisor within the campus student success office. They are specially trained to answer such questions and to help you obtain the assistance you need.
What must I do when I am ready to graduate?
- Be registered in your last remaining classes.
- Go to Connections.
- Sign on “Online Student Services.”
- Under the section “My Academic History” select degree audit.
- Choose the “degree audit” option at bottom of the screen.
- View your degree audit and check your “Graduation Status Messages.”
- If there are outstanding requirements listed, see your academic advisor for assistance.
- If your “Graduation Status Messages” states that you are ready to graduate, your degree will automatically be awarded and reflected on the transcript five days AFTER the term ends. (For the fall term degree messages will be placed on the transcript during the first week of January.)
When will I receive my diploma?
Diplomas are mailed to students who have graduated within six weeks after final graduation.
What are some holds that may keep me from graduating?
- Financial hold.
- High school transcript or external college transcript not received.
- “I” grades.
- GPA less than 2.0.
Students who Currently Have an Associate Degree or Higher
How long does the transcript evaluation process take? Can I take any courses while waiting for those results?
Once you enroll in your first set of classes the transcript evaluation process will begin. We will evaluate your transcripts as they are received and you will be notified by mail when each evaluation is completed. You can start taking classes prior to the completion of your transcript evaluation.